[14] Sweet Saturday: Gingerbread Cake

I’m back after a little time out! Holidays are still needed but I already feel a bit refreshed.
I’ve spent a couple of hours in the kitchen together with lots of cinnamon, earl grey, poppy seeds and lemon curd. I’d like to show you now what I have done with it, at least a part of it 🙂

I wanted to to make gingerbread cookies this year. I had a rather bad gingerbread-baking-experience a few years ago, so I am quite cautious at trying gingerbread recipes. At least I got gingerbread-star Christmas tree decoration out of this disaster 😉
By the way, Christmas tree marketeers are already back in our neighbourhood. Walking through these huge beautiful trees, smelling the resin…hah, I love it. Let’s get back to the recipe: I went down another path and made gingerbread-cake. Less messy and tasty, too.

gingerbread_cake1

gingerbread_cake2

gingerbread_cake3

I adapted the recipe from Sheryl, the food blogger behind thestylistquo.com

Gingerbread Cake
.

 ingredients_150px 240 g flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamin, grinded
1 teaspoon ginger, grinded
1/8 teaspoon cloves, grinded
115g butter, softened
115g light brown sugar
2 large eggs
zest of one lemon
120 ml mollasses (Zuckerrübersirup or Ahornsirup Typ A)
240 ml milk
.
 swirl_150px Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F).
Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and spices.
In a second bowl, stir butter and sugar until creamy. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well. Add lemon zest and mollasses. Aadd half of the dry ingredients, then the mild and the rest of of the flour mixture. Beat until incorporated.Fill dough into a with baking paper covered loaf tin (I used a 10 x 24cm tin).
Bake for about 40 minutes, or until the toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Let it cool of and, if you like, coat it with icing sugar or lemon icing

Enjoy!

2 Gedanken zu “[14] Sweet Saturday: Gingerbread Cake

Kommentar verfassen

