Sweet Saturday: Cinnamon Rolls

Finally, weekend has arrived, yay! Time to put the daily planner away and enjoy a little leisure time instead 🙂
At the moment I am browsing through recipes during the week and realize them on weekend. Working during day and baking during night sounds quite nice (kinda superher like 😉 ) but doesn’t work that easy in real life, because during daylight I am at my job and when I’d have time to follow my baking passion, it’s all dark. Making baked goods obviously is no problem, but photographing them get’s quite a challenge. So for the moment I concentrate my baking and photographing and blogging on weekends. I hope to be a little more flexible from spring on, when days are getting longer again.
Speaking of spring, are you already awaiting it, too? Although I like winter and all, it doesn’t seem to have arrived yet around here. It’s unusually warm (ok, I didn’t get sick and don’t freeze all the time, so: yay!) but it feels a bit odd. No snow, no ice and in fact, trees are budding a little already. So, being kinda between seasons I’ve planted some hyacinths on my window sill and they start blossoming a litte bit already 🙂

But let’s get back to baking. For now, I have been experimenting with yeast dough. Given that I do love cinnamon baked goods, it was just a matter of time to get to baking cinnamon rolls (again). I had some trouble with yeast dough before and I wasn’t sure if I should give it a try again after the last time dough didn’t rise, butter ran out during baking and I silently threw it away (1. because it’s such a waste and 2. I was embarrassed by my mistake) and had to scrub the oven and ventilate the kitchen…
After a little research I gave it another try and now I must say, I am very pleased 🙂
Of course I want to share my findings with you (hm, scientist talking, obviously), one step after the other. Today you will be given my tested and bulletproof recipe of yeast dough-buns, with cinnamon filling of course. More to come!

Cinnamon Rolls (c) Julzalicious Cakes

Cinnamon Rolls

It makes about 12 rolls (20x20cm tin) {I made 8 a little higher rolls}
.It ma
ingredients_150px*** for the dough ***
1 cup (240 ml) milk
50 g butter, melted
about 350 g all purpose flour {350 g say most recipes, I used almost 450 g}
1 cup (50 g) white sugar
1/2 yeast cube (1 cube = 42 g)
1 egg
1 pinch of salt

*** for the filling ***
1 cup (180g) brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
120 g butter, softened

swirl_150px

First, carefully grease a pan and set it aside.
Starting with the dough, heat the milk until lukewarm (it shouldn’t exceed 35° C) and melt the butter.
In a bowl mix flour, white sugar and yeast. Slowly add warm milk and mix until combined.
In the very end, add egg, then melted butter and salt. (not earlier, butter and salt prevent dough from rising!)
Slightly flour your work surface and continue kneading the dough, this time by hand. Add flour if necessary. Consistency is perfect when it pulls away from the surface. Let it rest covered with a towel in a warm place (e.g. the oven, at 50°C) for about 30 minutes. The dough should almost double in size.

In a small bowl, combine brown sugar, cinnamon and butter until creamy. Set aside.

Knead dough again (check if you need more flour) and roll it out into rectangular shape (5:3 ratio). Spread cinnamon filling evenly and roll dough into a log, beginning with the longer side close to you.
Cut into 12 equal pieces and close the bottom side(s) with dough, so that the filling won’t run out. Place the rolls in the prepared pan, cover them with a towel and let them rest the warm oven again (about 30 minutes).

When they have fishished rising, heat the (empty) oven to 175°C (350 degrees). Let the rolls bake for about 20 minutes or until light golden. Let the cool and add a topping if you like.

Enjoy!

3 Gedanken zu “Sweet Saturday: Cinnamon Rolls

Kommentar verfassen

