[Sweet Saturday] No Bake Mango & Coconut Granola Bars

Happy Weekend to you!
My dear friend C. asked me if I was going to test some Granola recipes and put it up here, if approved. Well, here you are, C.!
I wanted to make Granola for quite a while now but I hesitated… Why, you ask? Because I thought my experience with Granola was quite limited. Baking and publishing something without references (not good or bad, more like authentic or not) wasn’t something I was keen on doing.

As it turns out those fancy stuffed, prepared, photo-shoot ready nuts simply are breakfast cereals. Almost. Except the fancy name and appealing makeup. The name „Granola“ didn’t really make it to here, in Vienna I only found one store selling it – imported of course. At least I was able to enlight some people on my search to storebought Granola. („Gra…what? Never heard of it before…“)

I luckily was able to try a few bites of original Eastcoast grown Granola from a farm which specialized just on granola production (thanks, D.!) and it was really fine. So, why did I say almost (!) breakfast cereals? Granola isn’t just a mixture of ingredients, it needs to be baked (or at least partly heatet in a pan) before eating (and that’s the difference I can come up with!). So, Granola can be easly snacked, even withyout milk or yoghurt.
Now I know. Maybe I was able to enlight some of you too 😉

granola_bars1

granola_bars2

No Bake Mango & Coconut Granola Bars

  • Portionen: 20
  • Schwierigkeit: easy
  • Drucken

adapted from: ticklingpalates.com

150 g (2 cups) oats (I used breakfast oats with sunflower seeds and a handful cornflakes)
75 g (1 cup) spelt or rice crispies (I used cocoa spelt crispies) swirl_150px
50 g (1/4 cup) brown sugar
60 g (1/4 cup) butter or coconut oil
60 g (1/4 cup) honey
about 75 g (1/4 cup) coconut (I used unsweetened dry coconut)
about 75 g (1/4 cup) mango (I used unsweetened dry mango)
1 teaspoon vanilla essence (don’t overuse it!)

In a large bowl, mix together oats and crispies. Set aside.
Line a baking tray with baking paper.

In a coated an, heat the butter/oil, brown sugar and honey over low flame. Simmer until the sugar dissolves completely  and the mixture starts bubbling. Keep stirring continuously with a spatula. Remove from the stove, add vanilla essence and mix well.

Pour the still hot mixture over the oats and crispies mix and mix well (I recommend a spatula for mixing).

Dump the entire contents onto the lined baking tray and arrange it evenly. Press well (I covered the granola with a second baking paper and pressed it with a large cutting board) .

Let the granola cool for a few hours. As soon as firm slice them with a sharp knife.

**Variations**
Granola lets a lot of room for your own interpretation of the recipe.
lots of ingredients are interchangeable:  like dry fruits, raisins, cranberries, chocolate | nuts: almonds, cashews, pistachios etc. | cornflakes, rice crispies, spelt crispies

Enjoy!

So, C., let me know how you liked them (no pressure at all 😉
spacedude2

– Julz

Kommentar verfassen

